Avoiding Issues With Minoxidil & Your Cat Roommates

MissingPixels

My Regimen
Reaction score
I’ve been using minoxidil for two months now (Rogaine 5% foam). I have two cats and I would like to share how I’ve been dealing with the toxicity of minoxidil in cats.

There seems to be a fair bit of concern about this issue. Some people are even avoiding minoxidil because they have cats. However in my experience there is no reason to worry about harming your cats if you use an appropriate amount of care preventing them from coming in contact with the product.

Here is my short guide for using minoxidil foam twice daily while living with cats:

DO NOT allow your cat in the bathroom while applying minoxidil.
DO NOT touch your cat (or their food bowl) for at least a half hour after applying the foam.
ALWAYS thoroughly wash your hands after applying.
ALWAYS store your minoxidil in a place your cat can’t get to.
DO NOT allow your cat to touch your pillow/pillowcase.
AVOID touching your head where minoxidil has been applied even after it has dried.
BE CONSCIOUS of what your head might be rubbing against throughout the day. (Hats, headphones, etc.)​

If you’re extra paranoid, two additional steps you can take are:
  • Prevent your cat from drinking out of the sink. If your cat is in the habit of doing this, you can cover your sink with something (chopping board maybe?) until their habit is broken.
  • Do not allow your cat in your bedroom at night (or at all). This is the only way to ensure your cat is nowhere near your head while you’re sleeping. It also has the added benefit of keeping it away from your pillow.
I’ve come to the conclusion that cat owners shouldn't worry about “traces” of minoxidil poisoning their cats. Just make sure they don’t come in direct contact with minoxidil, and prevent them from touching objects that are likely to have frequently come in contact with the dried product (pillow, your head, etc).