Advice Needed Before Starting To Take finasteride

throworht

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey. I've been losing hair for a while now(1-2 years). It's pretty slow, but I've noticed I've got thinner areas at the temples and crown. I've been to a dermatologist and he prescribed me 3 things (I have to choose one). the one is dutasteride(Avodart, 0.5 mg/day), and the other 2 are finasteride(1 mg/day). I'd like to start with finasteride, since I read that it has lower chances of sides than dutasteride and it's "less aggressive", but maybe it'll will be enough. I also thought about starting 0.5 mg/day instead of the suggested 1 mg, and if it doesn't work out and I got no sides, I'll add to my daily dosage.
I want to ask if any of you know anything about these two types of finasteride, if anyone have used/is using it. Also do you think 0.5 is good for start, or should I go with the suggested 1 mg/day? Thanks in advance.

Charlie Foxtrot

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
First of all, I’m not a finasteride user myself yet so I’m not talking from experience. I am however about to start it in the upcoming week myself as well.

Indeed, starting with dutasteride is a bit heavy and is a more nuclear solution. Since you describe your hair loss as slow, I think it’s better to just start with finasteride and see how that goes. I don’t know about which types of finasteride you’re talking though. Do you mean different brands or?

Some people say there’s hardly any difference in effectiveness and side effects between 1mg and 0,5mg. And the other hand, some people don’t seem to get sides on 0,5 while experiencing sides on 1mg. I’m going to start with 0,5mg myself because that’s what makes me feel a bit more comfortable and I think that’s what you need to decide for yourself as well.

Good luck mate!
Charlie

-Synergy-

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey throworht