A good candidate?

draught19

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice about whether a hair transplant would work in my situation. I think I have a mild-moderate diffuse balding pattern (see attached photo). I've never taken propecia but I have been taking minoxidil for the last 4 years to some effect but have had to stop it recently because of side effects. Also, as a pharmacist I'm definitely not keen on taking propecia.

Just a few things to consider....

1. since I have recently stopped minoxidil my hair should return to baseline so I will experience further hair loss in the next 4 months
2. since it is a diffuse pattern I'm wondering whether "shock loss" will be a problem.
3. I should also lose some hair in the crown area as well (not shown) because I was also using minoxidil there also

If a hair transplant is not recommended at this earlyish stage of hair loss, when would be a good time?

Oh, and im 24. I was unfortunate enough to start losing hair at 19.

Thanks in advice for your time!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 270

dreamermerlin

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice about whether a hair transplant would work in my situation. I think I have a mild-moderate diffuse balding pattern (see attached photo). I've never taken propecia but I have been taking minoxidil for the last 4 years to some effect but have had to stop it recently because of side effects. Also, as a pharmacist I'm definitely not keen on taking propecia.

Just a few things to consider....

1. since I have recently stopped minoxidil my hair should return to baseline so I will experience further hair loss in the next 4 months
2. since it is a diffuse pattern I'm wondering whether "shock loss" will be a problem.
3. I should also lose some hair in the crown area as well (not shown) because I was also using minoxidil there also