3 or 4 ml of Rogaine, with nightcap

rooftop2599

Reaction score
I am applying Rogaine across the entire top of my head. I've found that 1ml really isn't a lot because some solution gets soaked up by my hair and other solution rolls off.

Trying it for the past week (I'm new to it) I have been steadily increasing it to where I was using almost 4ml a setting. I think I would go back to 3ml, but is that still too high? I am only using it once daily before I go to bed.

I started getting some dandruff but hopfully if I scale it down to 3ml that will go away.

My *real* question is, is it going to reduce the effectiveness if I use too *much*?

Also, what do you think about the idea of applying it 30 minutes before I have to go to bed and then wearing a plastic shower/swimming cap to keep the medication on? I was thinking of hiding it with a beanie so it's not noticeable.

Using Propecia, Nizoral, and Rogaine, and currently worried I am losing hair too fast... let's just hope it's the shedding from the Rogaine (Have already been on Propecia 7.5 months, Rogaine like 2 weeks).

striker9

Established Member
Reaction score
I also apply 4ml. Because it's the only way to cover all our heads.

But at lont terms, isn't that bad? I mean if they talk about side's with just the normal 1ml...

Anyone else?

casperz

Experienced Member
Reaction score
The first six months or so I used quite a bit of 5%, maybe up to 5ml per
application and i never had any sides. But when I switched to 15%
minoxidil and used the same amount my blood pressure dropped through
the floor to like 95/50 an insanely low BP number. On 4ml of 5%
my blood pressure drops slightly so I know it's not getting through to
my system as much. I think everyone is going to respond differently
and I think you could gauge how much is getting through by checking
your BP and comparing it to where you are normally.

striker9

Established Member
Reaction score
My heartbeat rises, but continues in normal levels says my doctor.