28 Yr Male Starting Minoxidil Again After 2 Years On finasteride (photos)

Pephair

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been creeping these forums for a few years now, finally decided to lay it all out to help me track my hair loss/growth. Okay here we go:

Age 18: Began hair recession.
Age 23: Started Minoxidil for 8 months, saw no results so I dropped it.

Age 26: Decided to get a hair transplant. Dr. Sara Wasserbauer put me on 1mg Finasteride. From her exam she saw "60% miniaturization and significantly decreased density indicating Norwood Class IIIav, the density in the back of your scalp was above average, about 70-80 FU/cm2 with <10% miniaturization"

A month later I got a FUE of 1900 hairs to my front side to fill in my hairline. See PRE-OP photos:

PreOp  2.jpeg
PreOp 4.png

Transplant went well, except I had a lot of hair loss to my native hairs at the hairline. Pretty sure all thats on my hairline now is the planted hair. While being on Finasteride for 2 years, I maintained my crown decently. However I feel like I'm very slowly thinning more and more. Here are some progress photos:

6 Months Post Op:
6 months 3.png

1 Year Post Op (And checkup by different Dr... She said I should get on minoxidil, I said I've been on it before with no results. But also I wasn't on finasteride at the time. Nocrown photo sry.
12 MONTHS post.png
12 Months 2.png

Starting to see the thinning up there. Kept my hair really short thin on sides, thought it looked good lol.

24 Months Post OP Took photos last week
20 months 5.png
IMG_2164.JPG
IMG_2167.JPG

About 5 months ago I started Nizoral 1% everyday, saw some thinning and went to 2/3 times a week.
I just started Minoxidil Liquid 5% Once daily at night 2 days ago.

So I'm taking/using:
Finasteride 1mg Once Daily (No sides)
Minoxidil 5% Liquid Once Daily (1.5mL)
Nizoral 1% (2/3 Times weekly) (Leave in scalp 3-5mins)
Daily Vitamin (Once Daily)
Fish Oil (Once Daily)
Biotin 5mg (Once Daily)