26 and losing lots of hair! HELP!

flipgirl95

Reaction score
I'm 26 yrs old and have been loosing hair for the last year. I used to have thick curly hair that I could barely twist a rubberband around twice around my ponytail. Now I can easily twist a rubberband around 3TIMES! I went to my doctor about 6 months of losing my hair and she examined my scalp and said it was healthy and that my blood tests came back normal. Because I had so much hair to begin with most people don't notice that I've lost a lot of hair. My doctor told me it was normal to lose hair and I shouldn't worry about it. 6 months later I am still losing a lot of hair and next week when I have another dr.'s apt. I am demanding her to refer me to a dermatologist. I have been using Nioxin for the last 4 months and I have notice a decrease in my hair loss, but it's still a lot of hair falling out. Sometimes I'll have a few hairs fall out in the shower, but most of the time I have a considerable amount of hair fall out. I also notice when my hair is wet you can very easily see my scalp, especially on the back of my head and on top. I work full-time and go to school full-time and have been under a great amount of stress the last 2 years, could this be a reason for my hair loss? I have 2 more years of school and I'm afraid if stress is the culprit I will be bald by the time I graduate from college. Does anyone have any advice or questions I should ask my dermatologist? Thanks!

laura00783

Reaction score
Hi Flipgirl95,

Did you go and see your general practitioner?

Are you on any medication or birth control? Pregnancy? Have you had your thyroid checked? Going to an endocrinologist would be helpful in ruling out endocrine/hormonal problems.

How long has your hair loss been for, and is it an overall thinning/shedding?

Answering these would be helpful in terms of figuring out what type of hair loss you have, and then being able to assess your treatment accordingly. :)