25 year old Minoxidil/Finasteride

FullMetalGear

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am 25 years old and I have been losing my hair for about five years now. I don't really fit any of the categories on the norwood hamilton chart. Basically my hairline receded at first (a little more near the temples). Then I began losing hair on my crown in a large circle. At that point I decided it was bad enough that I needed to do something about it. I started out by trying low risk methods (hairmax laser, saw palmetto). I saw little success with these and was reluctant to start on minoxidil and finasteride due to the many horror stories I had read online. My hairloss progressed and I began to have diffuse thinning all over the top of my head.

This pushed me to try minoxidil at first, because it had less side effects compared with finasteride. Six months later I made the decision to add finasteride as well. I have now been on minoxidil for eight months, and finasteride for two. I have noticed a significant thickening and darkening of my hair, which several people commented on. The recession on my temples is still there (I don't know of anything that product that can change that), but my diffuse thinning and loss on my crown has become recognizably less apparent. I did not experience ANY side effects so far from the finasteride (1 mg per day).

I realize I probably haven't been on the finasteride long enough for it to have any affect, so most of my success is probably due to the minoxidil.