2 years on generic Propecia (Finasteride), pics and story!

buddyspied

Reaction score
I wanted to register and post my story and pics since when I was deciding to go on Finasteride there seemed to be little help other than this site for real people and not internet drug stores and misinformation..

I started losing hair at 21 slowly each year. By the time I was 27-28 it was indeed thin from the front towards the back but I had ok coverage in the back. I always kept my hair short to minimize the effect but had been seeing and hearing friends success stories on propecia. I finally decided it was a now or never moment when I was 30 about to turn 31. I'm 33 now and have been on the generic finasteride made by pms. My pharmacy had always had difficulty keeping that brand in stock and about three months ago switched me to "Sandoz" brand finasteride. I had been doing fine on the pms for about 20 months. No huge gain, no huge loss/shed but once I made the switch I noticed my hair thinning more than it had in 21 previous months.. I know and have read they're all the same drug but this was my honest impression. So much so that I've decided to go onto real propecia which started today. The price difference was negligible and I'd rather have this than Sandoz.

I've also used Nizoral shampoo once or twice a week since I'd read on line that everyone in the original propecia study had used it as well. Aside from what it might look like in early pictures, I've never had dry scalp as a result of the propecia. I live in canada and have naturally dry skin.. it's cold here.. I personally feel that the drug has done a good job of slowing down my hair loss. Friends have remarked that I'm "maintaining" and even looking back at pictures from 4-5 years ago, I'm arguably not that much worse off if at all.