2-3 Years Into My Regime, Need Advice? Might Toss It All Together?

James227

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'll try and be brief... I have been on propecia for one year, then a three month break, then for these past six months. I have been using liquid minoxidil for I would say three years. Six months ago (and exactly seven days since restarting propecia) I developed dermatitis on my face (docs told me it was everything from rosacea to eczema) and I can't get rid of it. Tried everything! About six weeks ago I developed an incredibly dry and flaky scalp. It's everywhere, on my scalp, in my hair, it will constantly fall out if I rub my head continuously. I've tried nizoral, t-gel, head and shoulders, coconut oil. I'm about to pick up something called Betamethasone Valerate 0.1%?? I'm also going to switch from liquid minoxidil to the foam, though I don't hold out much hope as I took a week off from applying minoxidil and it didn't do squat! And yes, my hair is thinning more in these areas and I would say I'm loosing roughly 100 - 200 hairs a day, but it's hard to tell. Some days are better than others and I have long hair so counting them is a ball ache! I tried dissolving some off the flakes in alcohol to see if it was actually dry skin or minoxidil, and the flakes did not dissolve so I think that means that it is dry skin? Anyway, my question(s) are, has anyone ever heard of these symptoms as side effects coming on so far down the line? Or are these not side effects and in fact something else entirely? And, if I'm so far into my regime with very little results and my hair is slowly getting worse, is the writing on the wall and do you guys think it is time to toss treatment altogether? Sorry it's a bit long winded, but for those of you who can be arsed reading it, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, James.

Retinoid

My Regimen
Reaction score