14 months on propecia, 3months on dutasteride - excessive shedding - Off for over a month.

RapidRetreat

Reaction score
I noticed slight recession last year at 24 and a slight thinning crown. Decided to be proactive and got on propecia, took 1mg a day for over a year and all it seemed to do was give me excess oil and a terrible scalp itch. After 14 months I switched to 0.5mg of dutasteride a day and it just made everything worse. I was shedding from everywhere from propecia and dutasteride just made it worse I lost hair from the side of my head to my chest and eyebrows!

In nearly 18 months I had gone from slight recession and crowning to heavy heavy shedding and a very noticable thinning area on my entire scalp. I am diffuse all over have receded about 2cm on each side but all over is itchy and it is very upsetting.

I have hairloss on both side although my father has a full head of hair at 56. I have been using a laser helmet for 6 months now 3 times a week and have been rubbing emu and coconut oil before every session. I had started a new job a year ago and was stressed out and have gone through a really bad break up in the last 6 months could this exacerbate the issue? Im a fit guy and always go to the gym but it seems that dht blockers are not for me they have incited a Telogen Effluvium like event all over my head.

Any help would be appreciated I am no good at this kind of writing thing so I appologise if I have confused or left something out but please if you have any help or assistance that would be appreciated.

I have also recently started s5 spironolactone in the last month every night before bed and have been off any drug for over a month now and still shedding but not as much as before. Call me confused!

RapidRetreat

Reaction score