1 year finasteride & 4 months oral minoxidil (21m)

marlonthoo

My Regimen
Reaction score
Introduction:

I'm 21 years and have been suffering from hairloss since I was about 19. I have diffuse patterned hairloss. It's really scary because the thinning is all over my scalp and has happened within only a few months. I know it's genetic but I do feel like it was triggered because I was going through very traumatizing things during that time.
My father had always had a buzzcut but had full hair and a perfect hairline (he's black). My mom has thinner hair now but she's 56. I have been wearing a hat every single day for about 2 years and I hate living like that. No one around me gets it and I wouldn't wish it upon anyone. It has affected my mental health horribly. I went from being known for the kid with the big afro to someone suffering from alopecia.

Treatment:
I started finasteride a little over a year ago in 2019. Getting a prescription for it was very difficult and took me several months to find a doctor to prescribe it to me. It was mentally exhausting to suffer like that and not being taken seriously by any doctor. I did have a shed when i started Finasteride for like 4 months and didn't see any any results until 9 months into treatment. I mainly noticed a thickening in my hair and donor looking a little bit better. I started topical minoxidil and used it for 2 months and then switched to oral minoxidil 4 months ago and had good success so far. I'm still shedding a ridiculous amount from minoxidil. My hair seems to slowly improve but it's just scary to see the shedding. I am planning on switching to Dutasteride in a few months.