Zinc Supplement

Jin7

Reaction score
Okay, so I'm a 20-year old college student who's been experiencing diffused hair loss for a couple of years now, to the point where a receding hairline is definitely starting to become noticeable. It's also been accompanied by a flaky scalp, which got me thinking about whether it was a hereditary problem or some sort of a nutritional deficiency. I'm a vegetarian, and I can also confidently say that I haven't been eating as well I should since starting college (which is also when the hair loss began!).

Besides trying to maintain a more well-balanced diet, I also recently learned about the importance of zinc (which is severely lacking in my poor vegetarian meals) to proper hair growth, and started taking a 50 mg zinc gluconate supplement. It's been a month, and I don't know if it's just me looking for results or not, but I'm actually starting to look more like my 18-year old self (it's sad, I know, for someone to already be thinking like this). My only problem is that even though I would gladly continue taking this supplement for as long as possible, is it safe to do so? I know that although zinc is very beneficial for our bodies, it can also be harmful if too much is taken in. But I don't think I'm getting much to begin with (outside of freakin' breakfast cereal), so I really don't know what to do.

Vox

Established Member
Reaction score
Jin7 said:
My only problem is that even though I would gladly continue taking this supplement for as long as possible, is it safe to do so? I know that although zinc is very beneficial for our bodies, it can also be harmful if too much is taken in. But I don't think I'm getting much to begin with (outside of freakin' breakfast cereal), so I really don't know what to do.