Wondering about the effectiveness of generic minoxidil?

ShedMaster

Reaction score
Ive been using generic kirklands 5% for about 4 months now. After reading up on it, I am wondering if it is effective as real rogaine. I understand the the main ingredient of minoxidil is probably correctly distributed. But the vehicle by which the minoxidil is used to be absorbed into the scalp is different then the regular rogaine, IE.. different proportions of alcohol and ppg. It is clearly more greasy then regular rogaine as well, so something is different. And isnt absorbtion a vital step the effectiveness of the minoxidil? If the minoxidil isnt absorbed into the scalp at its fullest potential then whats the point.

I have had some decent results, again I'm into my 5th month right now, and my hair is overall in much better condition. But after reseraching this it made me wonder.

Any other comments?

VoRteX

Established Member
Reaction score
the ingredients in kirkland are identical to rogaine in quantity and percentages.

the bottles and lot numbers are identical.

i'd be willing to bet rogaine resells it to kirkland. its the same sh*t. Is it possible the kirkland is slightly lower quality? maybe, but would it really make that much difference?

ShedMaster

Reaction score
VoRteX said:
the ingredients in kirkland are identical to rogaine in quantity and percentages.

the bottles and lot numbers are identical.

i'd be willing to bet rogaine resells it to kirkland. its the same sh*t. Is it possible the kirkland is slightly lower quality? maybe, but would it really make that much difference?

interesting, thank you. I wonder why people claim that regular rogaine is less greasy then generic? I have never used rogaine but it made me wonder.

What do the lot numbers indicate?

flux

Experienced Member
Reaction score