Weightlifting = Hairloss? I'm kinda confused now.....

StoptheMadness

Established Member
Reaction score
Some people theorize this increases hormones which might lead to increase in dihydro and further hair loss....This makes some sense, in a logical way. But how much water does this really hold?......I lift, a lot, and now am a little paranoid. I started lifting heavy bout a year ago and now my hair hasn't exactly improved, it's actually gotten a little worse and now I can see where I will be heading with this......any thoughts from you guys?

I personally think that people genetically disposed to hair loss, who raise their hormonal levels through intense phy activity, will help to speed up hair loss...sorry for this thought guys.

The Gardener

Reaction score
That is a more complicated hypothesis than it may seem at surface level.

Even though testosterone levels may be increased from weightlifting, the rate at which testosterone is converted into DHT by your body does not necessarily increase correspondingly. These two mechanisms are not affected in parallel. Test creation is a function, I believe, of your pituitary whereas DHT conversion is a function of certain enzymes.

So, there may be people out there who don't weightlift, and may have miniscule testosterone in the blood but have outrageously high DHT levels because their bodies have naturally high test to DHT conversion rates.

pleasehelpme

Established Member
Reaction score
that's bullshit.

keep lifting.. when you're 40+ and you're not overweight and/or struggling to bench 95 lbs... you'll be happy you did.

oh and by the way stopthemadness since you lift a lot can you give me some tips? im trying to increase my bench all 3 types but mainly incline and flat, triceps, shoulders, and back.