Topical Dutasteride

Mr Clean

Reaction score
Has anybody here tried applying Dutasteride topically to their head?

I've had some really weird experiences with Dutasteride. I first started about a year ago by applying it topically mixed with Aloe Vera gel, like 1 or 2 pills and leaving it on overnight, not washing it out. If you don't know about this treatment look up AA (Aloe Vera Gel and Avodart). This started to work PERFECTLY right at the 2 week mark and my hair loss came to a grinding halt. It was amazing. I went from losing like 100+ hairs a day to like 5-7 hairs a day. Then after about 3 weeks of only losing 5-7 hairs a day again, my hairloss returned. Also, right as I got on AA, I got off of Propecia, so that might have definitely had something to do with it. I waited about 2 weeks, freaked out about having gotten off of Propecia, and got back on it while still applying AA. Never got the hairloss back down to 5-7 hairs again.

Now, I'm trying to apply Dutasteride by itself, without any Aloe Vera Gel, directly to my scalp. I squeeze out the contents of 3 pills into a little cup like a shot glass, and then rub it onto my scalp. It will be interesting to see if this works. Started doing this just tonight. Will definitely keep you guys posted.

I got the idea of rubbing it directly onto my head as there were some times where I was preparing the AA back in the day and I applied some of the Dutasteride by itself directly to my temples and I got some really tine vellous hairs that are slowly starting to grow into terminal hairs now. This was only after 1 or 2 treatments. I started thinking if it would work on my temples, it should work all over my scalp... so I'm giving this a shot now.