To Hairloss Veterans ... Help!

pkpkpk!

Reaction score
I am 21 yrs old diffuse thinner but with a nw2 receding hairline.]

Now my question is that 95% of the hairs that fall out are very very thin (almost colourless) and are 0.5 inches long. It's amazing how consistent they are in length and diameter. I would take pics if i could afford a camera.
But all of my hairs on my head are 2 inches long. I know this because I shaved my head 2 months ago.

So what's going on? What are these hairs?

ShedMaster

Reaction score
I am no expert in the stages and lenths of hair and hair follicles, however, I do know that as the hair follicles die, they get smaller and smaller and result in a shorter length for the growing period. Basically the hairs get will grow shorter during the growing period before they are exfolliated. As the hair follicle shrinks, the hair becomes vellous, which is very short and no color to it. This is a sign of male pattern baldness. Unfortunetly these hairs probably will not be replaced without a little persuation (minoxidil/propecia)

I HIGHLY recommend that you drop the saw palmetto. You do not need it at all and probably are shedding exessively because of it.

pkpkpk!

Reaction score
Yups, I am already on propecia and minoxidil since Aug 2003. Forgot to update sig ... but ya, I dropped Saw Palmeto long time ago already.

I guess that 0.5 inch is the maximum length these dying hairs can get.

Hopeful to see resutls from propecia soon. I would be satisfied just to maintain.

The Gardener

Reaction score
The scenario you describe is not all that unusual for me to comprehend. Basically you are shedding thin hairs, that is, less pigmented hairs, because your genetic makeup is telling your body to shed them. In the meantime, you genetic makeup is telling your body to hold onto the rest of your hair, but make them grow thinner.