thrilhouse's story

G

Hello ladies!
I am a newbie, and have found great comfirt on this site!
My hair loss started in the first week of August and has not let up! The first 4 derms I went to see all said "Telogen Effluvium" and relax it'll come back. The last derm I went to actually agreed to give me scalp biopsy and it came back Androgenetic Alopecia. I don't understand this due to no one in my family having this. I have lost 60% of my hair in a little under five months! I started rogaine 2% three weeks ago, and still I shed like carzy! I also have seb-derm.
The third derm I went to see actually gave me spironolactone "just in case" and I've been on that for 3 months and nothing! It is so devastating to just watch the hair go, and so quickly! Has anyone ever gotten a scalp biopsy that was wrong? This guy I saw didn't even let me see my results, nor explain why he thought it was Androgenetic Alopecia. On top of that, I have to write a formal requst to the hospital he works at to get copies of my results. Also he sais my ferratin level is at 55, which he described as being "pretty good". How professional is that?

Stacey

lentara

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, Stacey! Welcome to the forum.
There is a lot of info that you'll be able to get here. All of the ladies here are great.
Laura and Maya are especially helpful.
Good luck to you. :)

G

Hi Stacey, welcome to the board! It would be nice if you registered :)

Anyway, shedding on minoxidil is very common. The most simple way to explain it is that the rogaine is kicking out hairs that were bound to fall out anyway, to make room for new growth. A shed can last even 6 weeks!

Sorry to hear about your incompetent dermatologists. Unfortunately though, not too many scalp biopsies are wrong.