SOD, whats the point?

morpheus

Reaction score
tell me someone what is the pointin taking oral super oxide dismutase?

it is a complex protein molecule, an enzyme, and as many might know, proteins are chopped in in the small and large bowels by enzymes such as peptidase, the intact protein molecule, is initially cleaved into long chain peptides, then into its constituent amino acids, so it can then be absorbed across the gut membrane into the blood stream.

these amino acids, such as alanine, glycine, arginine, tryptophan etc are now singal amino acids with no memory of the protein they originated from, so it is physically an impossible they they will reasemble once again back into superoxide dismutase... only DNA can assemble proteins from constituent amino acids.

I am a scientist, ive done a phd in protein chemistry, so i konw what im on about, so imho oral tablets of SOD are a complete con...

unless the intact protein can be absorbed across the membranes... very unlikey, the acid in the stomach starts braking protiens down by acidcatalysed hydrolysis, just tthough yow lot might like to know that before you spend stacks on SOD tabs for oral ingestion, unless theres something i dont know about

G

morpheus said:

it is a complex protein molecule, an enzyme, and as many might know, proteins are chopped in in the small and large bowels by enzymes such as peptidase, the intact protein molecule, is initially cleaved into long chain peptides, then into its constituent amino acids, so it can then be absorbed across the gut membrane into the blood stream.

these amino acids, such as alanine, glycine, arginine, tryptophan etc are now singal amino acids with no memory of the protein they originated from, so it is physically an impossible they they will reasemble once again back into superoxide dismutase... only DNA can assemble proteins from constituent amino acids.