Samsam's Story (Telogen Effluvium)

samsam

Reaction score
Hello folks. My name is Sam, I am a 27 year old grad student and I have just experienced a bout of what they call "telogen effluvium", and I am utterly puzzled as to why so few men with no past history of hair loss/male pattern baldness and a bout of Telogen Effluvium have not posted their own "success stories" on internet forums such as these.

First let me tell you a little about myself and my situation: I have absoltuely no male pattern baldness in my family, my maternal grandfather was part Native American and both my mother and I (although we look and consider ourselves Caucasian) both inherited the characteristic dark, thick hair. I guess you could say I have a "George Clooney" type hairline. I have no chest hair and I can barely grow a beard.

Last semester, I went through one of the most stressful periods of my life, with the following problems occuring AT THE SAME TIME within a brief period:

1. break-up with girlfriend
2. I found out my mom had cancer
3. final exams
3. a one-month battle with a severe cold/headache/cough (don't know really what it was, to tell you the truth. flu?)
4. A winter break internship in DC that I had to get up every morning at 5am for, despite my illness, my worrying about my mother, and my general depression.

After about 2 weeks into the internship, I noticed I started to shed massive amounts of hair in the shower, easily about 150-200 each morning. Almost overnight, my hair went from black to brown, I was thinning all over, and I noticed the front area was limp and I could not style it "up" in a quasi-pampodour fashoin like I used to, even with hair gel. I noticed my part was getting bigger, and I could actually SEE MY SCALP in the mirror when my hair was wet, something which I could not do before.