Rogaine & Shaving My Head

Plowran

Reaction score
Hi Everyone;
I have been using Rogaine now for a month or so and I do see results.
Unfortunately at 25 years of age I have been shaving my head for a few years because the Widow's Peak is way past noticeable.
I was wondering if there would be an issue if I still continued to shave my head while waiting for the Rogaine to make more of a dramatic effect, or if I had to allow my hair (or lack there of) to grow out for the Rogaine to take effect?
Thank You, just something I was wondering about so I could continue shaving my head or just wear a Ball Cap all the time til It starts to come back with a more noticeable difference.
Philip

G

shaving your head will make it work even better because more minoxidil will hit the scalp.

phish

Established Member
Reaction score
i always said that people that use rogaine or any topicals should have a nice buzz cut, will dramatically increase absorption rate. you be surprised how much rogaine is wasted in your hair. the best results i see are people that keep hair short.

Plowran

Reaction score
Thanks Guys;
I'll take your word for it....
The reason I asked was because maybe the hair soaking it into the root was the best possible way for it to soak in...?
Although I dont have to use the recomended 1ml twice a day, I can get away with .75ml at the most to cover my whole scalp.
Later
Phil

G

Yes.My hair is buzzed 1.5 and i can get away with using a little less (to avoid sides) Good luck.And with topicals i think a buzzed hair is great because you dont miss any areas.

Plowran

Reaction score
Yea it lasts longer than a month!
What is 1.5? Like a crew cut? or is that the clipper attachment?
When I say buzzed I mean I take it all down like a 5 o'clock shadow

G

Its a number one setting on the clipper,Its a bit longer than a five aclock shadow.

RP3X

Established Member
Reaction score
yeap I just went number 0, clipper style and shaved off my head.