Rogaine for an eternity

pringlea

Reaction score
Heya, guys:

I've been balding since I was 19 in 1987. Didn't do much about it until it became markedly noticeable when I turned 22-ish. At that time Rogaine was scrip-only, propecia was only to be had via proscar, etc., etc. Dark days.

Luckily I was rooming with a med-student who was balding, too. We eventually got hold of finasteride via Tijuana and a little research. Anyway, this isn't my topic.

Sooo, I'm 37 now -- taking minoxidil, propecia, Nizoral, topical biotin and a little horsetail. I've maintained pretty well but as of about 3-4 months ago hairloss started to exceed growth. So I upped rogaine and ordered proxiphen (1.5 weeks now).

Thing is, I've really started to grow dense facial hair secondary to minoxidil use (with mild facial puffiness). Don't like it. I've tapered back but feel that the prox inescapably provides over-dose levels if used in conjunction wtih standard minoxidil application (twice a day -- once with prox and once via standard kirkland dropper).

So here's my Q: Are 2 doses of minoxidil required to achieve regrowth? Is one application enough (via prox)?

Also, I think I've hit my ceiling with proscar, and will be upping my dose to 2mgs/day. Is this o.k.?

TIA, amigos!!
Tony

CCS

Reaction score
2mg per day of proscar is not a high dose. you can take 30 per day for 6 months, and maybe 20 per day for longer than that. if you have the money you can just take 5mg per day if you want, and get 25% more regrowth.

As for the minoxidil, yes, once daily 5% will probably give you as much regrowth as twice daily 2%.

pringlea

Reaction score
Actually, from 1992. Not much to say. Got on all the available treatments back then and it pretty much halted and regrew. Stayed on this for about 10 years w/o much loss or regrowth after the initial 2-ish year regrowth phase. Then I got lazy and stopped using rogaine. Now I'm balding again and trying everything like mad. Waiting for the miracle cure...

tp