Question about hair transplant's

daedalus

Reaction score
This may be a stupid question, so please bear with me. I'm not really seriously considering a hair transplant right now, but I'm just thinking about the future. I'm 27 and a diffuse thinner. I've been losing my hair for about 2-3 years and it's getting worse pretty quickly.

My question is once you get an hair transplant, do you have to take Propecia/minoxidil or some kind of medication for the rest of your life? I tried propecia and had bad side effects from it, so I had to stop taking it. So am I screwed since I wouldn't be able to take it after a hair transplant?

Does the transplanted hair become susceptible to male pattern baldness just like the remaining hair? Because in that case, it seems like all a hair transplant does is buy you some more time. It doesn't seem like a permanent solution.

I just hope some day comes when I can forget about this damn hairloss completely. I even shaved my head recently, but I know that it's not a great look for me. Anyway, thanks for the help.

mvpsoft

Experienced Member
Reaction score
If you get a hair transplant, you will have to treat your male pattern baldness for the rest of your life. Think of it this way. Suppose you get the hair transplant. Those hairs won't fall out, but the rest of your hair will continue to disappear. How will you look in five years if that happens? Surgery replaces the hair that won't grow back through medication, but it is not a once-and-done permanent fix.

daedalus

Reaction score
So basically, I'd have to take propecia or minoxidil for the rest of my life even after a transplant. Considering that I can't even take propecia, a hair transplant doesn't seem like a good solution.

I guess that means I better get used to the shaved head look. Unless something else comes out. This really sucks.

eastend

Reaction score
daedalus said: