PRP at home?

jd_uk

Reaction score
I did a google search looking for people that have done this. NOT injecting it, but applying it to the scalp after dermarolling. The benefits of microneedling have already been established, and PRP is well established in the medical field but for hair growth it is still new. But so far it is showing promising results and many of the local hair loss doctors do it here.

I'm not here to give medical advice but simply to answer you question. I used to work in a lab and obtaining plasma is easy. The hard part is getting your own blood. Luckily for me my wife is a nurse so she can draw it into a 15-20 ml tube for me. Next, buy a centrifuge from amazon, it's $80 which is cheap. I ordered mine the other day. Next you put your tube of blood in the centrifuge and you put a tube of water (or blood) just across from this in the same amount to "balance" out when it spins. Next you press the on button and the tube spins like crazy and 15 minutes later the blood will separate from the plasma. The plasma is the yellow layer on top. You suction this out with a pipette and voila, you have plasma.

Now from here I am a bit unsure exactly what to do but I do have a plan to try. First, I don't know how long this plasma can last in room temperature or a fridge, but it can last a year if frozen. So maybe thaw it out the night before you use? Second, I plan on microneedling my balding parts of my scalp weekly, then applying the PRP after I do this. Again, I’m not sure how often and for how long it should be done but I’ve read microneedling weekly is typical for the scalp and once every 4-6 weeks for the face.

Thoughts?

I would tell everyone that is was shwoing promising results if I could charge thousands for it too.

dantan33

Reaction score
There is a few difference in spinning once compared to twice.
Spin it once, you have the whole plasma with the platelets in it and fibrinogen. Platelet concentration is lower.