Opinions on Kirklands v Rogaine v Dr Lee's etc...

AKA

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for a 5% formulation I can apply quickly and easily once a day maybe five days a week.

I can buy Kirkland minoxidil for under six pounds a bottle. However some people diss the brand for its greasiness etc.

I'm new to minoxidil, should I try the Kirklands?

Or am I risking wasting my money and risking putting myself off minoxidil altogether?

Thanks!

BadHairDecade

Reaction score
I've read that Kirkland and Rogaine are made by the same company. The thing is 1x a day maybe 5 times a week probably won't do anything. It seems (to me anyway) that a lot of the guys that suffer from minoxidil sheds aren't using the product the way they should be. 2x a day 7 days a week.

AKA

Established Member
Reaction score
5% minoxidil once a day is the same (or slightly higher) dosage as 2% minoxidil twice a day, so what logic is there in saying it doesn't work??

BadHairDecade

Reaction score
AKA said:
5% minoxidil once a day is the same (or slightly higher) dosage as 2% minoxidil twice a day

no it's not.....That's like saying taking one Proscar pill every five days is the same as taking 1mg per day for five days.

AKA

Established Member
Reaction score
BadHairDecade said:
AKA said:
5% minoxidil once a day is the same (or slightly higher) dosage as 2% minoxidil twice a day

no it's not.....That's like saying taking one Proscar pill every five days is the same as taking 1mg per day for five days.

Plenty of people take 1/2 a proscar every other day rather than taking a quarter each day.

BadHairDecade

Reaction score
The smartest thing to do is take the meds the way it's recommended and has been tested.
I'm also speaking from experience as well. I did the 1x a day minoxidil thing a long time ago and it only made things worse.

AKA

Established Member
Reaction score