Newbie saying thanks to HairlossTalk

fallenfeather

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Like alot of people I've been lurking on this forum for some months absorbing as much information as possible. My hairline started slowly receding when I was 19 and I'm now 25 and have the classic m shapped hairline. I have slight diffuse thinning on the top but no signs of any bald spots. I have been shaving my head with an electric face shaver for about 3 years now and I'm reasonably ok about this look. However, as my hairlie continues to recede the look is getting worse as my forehead slowly gets higher (it was high to begin with since i was a kid!).

I'd really really like to have hair again, with a bit of a fringe as I'm growing tired of my shaven head look but I worry that if I were to grow it out it wouldn't be thick enough to look good.

So....I decided to get on some treatments and after researching on this forum I've started onto a version of "the big 3" as you guys call it.

I've been taking 0.5mg of generic dutasteride daily, 5% minoxidil twice daily and nizorelle (1%) 2-3 times weekly.

I've been on the dutasteride for 30 days now, the minoxidil for 14 and the nizorelle for 7. Here's my experience so far:

dutasteride:
In the first 2 week of dutasteride my libido dropped considerably, but it's now returned to pretty much normal. Something else that dramatically changed was my ejaculation. For the last couple of years it used to be slightly uncomfortable to ejaculate. Nothing major, just a little pressure and sometimes slight pain. It almost felt like a slight blockage somewhere. It was the same when urinating. Since being on dutasteride this has totally stopped and everything just "flows" now! I'm really really happy about this effect. I can only assume that I had a slightly enlarged prostate but not known and now dutasteride has reduced the size and fixed the problem. This is fantastic and my sex life is much more enjoyable now.