Need some quick, expierenced advice please

Chris23

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been parting my hair around the same area for abut the past 9 yrs and i'm starting to receed an thin in the front around that area and I can tell it's only gonna get worse. I'm 23 and I'd like to stop this asap. I'm trying to grow my hair out and I'd like to start wearing it pulled back alot, and I'll be to self conscious if I pull it back with the thinning in the front.
Is proscar the same thing as Propecia, just the generic version? Do I have to have a prescription to get it? Do you think I should start it? I hate to start propecia and minoxidil cause once I start I know I can't stop, pretty much the only area on my scalp I'd need the minoxidil is in the front, so I dont even know if I should start it because from what I've read it doesnt even have any effect on the front and hairline areas?
Any help and advice is much appreciated. Thanks alot

zak84

Established Member
Reaction score
Chris23 said:
Is proscar the same thing as Propecia, just the generic version? Do I have to have a prescription to get it? Do you think I should start it? I hate to start propecia and minoxidil cause once I start I know I can't stop, pretty much the only area on my scalp I'd need the minoxidil is in the front, so I dont even know if I should start it because from what I've read it doesnt even have any effect on the front and hairline areas?
Any help and advice is much appreciated. Thanks alot

proscar is technically the same thing as propecia. the studies done for propecia were based on 1mg of finasteride, proscar has 5mgs and when you cut it up, you dont know exactly how much medication is in each dose, where as with propecia, you know exactly how much you are getting

yes, you need a prescription to get either propecia or proscar

you should definitely take one or the other, they get to the root of the problem

while you cannot stop taking propecia and minoxidil, its better than going bald