Minoxidil side effect on libido & erection

Black Mamba

Reaction score
I've been using topical Minoxidil lotion 5% for 5 years. From my experience it decreased my libido & caused erection problem.

I've done some repetitive experiment about its side effect. and I found out that if I stop using Minoxidil, in 3 months, my libido & erection back to normal. But when I start to use minoxidil again, in just 1 month the libido & erection problem arise again.

To make sure that minoxidil treatment is the culprit, i repeat the experiment cycle several times during my 5 years of usage. And the result is always the same.

I have question: how technically minoxidil cause such problem (lowering libido & erection problem) ?

xetudor

Established Member
Reaction score
Minoxidil has not been shown to cause sexual problems, it's the other hair loss treatment, finasteride that has a small risk of sexual problems.

Most likely you're overthinking it.

Black Mamba

Reaction score
Minoxidil has not been shown to cause sexual problems, it's the other hair loss treatment, finasteride that has a small risk of sexual problems.

Most likely you're overthinking it.

i'm not overthinking it.

At first i didn't even knew that minoxidil was the culprit of my ED.
Not until i search on the internet about the problem, and found out that a lot of people have the exactly same problem with me.

If you google on the internet with keyword "minoxidil cause ED" you will find out that the minoxidil ED side effect is all over the internet & forums.
Here i give you some links of user review and forums that talk about minoxidil side effect on libido & ED:

www.askapatient.com/mobile/viewrating.asp?drug=20834&name=ROGAINE+EXTRA+STRENGTH+(FOR+MEN)

www.selfgrowth.com/articles/minoxidil-review-benefits-and-side-effects-for-men

www.hair restorationnetwork.com/eve/170507-sexual-side-effect-using-minoxidil-5%.html

www.bald truthtalk.com/threads/18494-Minoxidil-causes-Erectile-Dysfunction/page2