minoxidil after 2 months.....agggghhhh

malhounsen

Reaction score
I know I should stick to it but this is getting scary, I am using Nizoral aswell and am starting to get alot of irritation.
I wasn't using Nizoral and leaving it in properly every other day like I am now though so I am hoping if I stick to it the irritation will go away. I have started to skip on applications of minoxidil because of the irritation.
I'm starting to think I need to start using propecia/proscar? I am a canadian in the states right now so do not know how much trouble it will be to get on it. I am interested in hearing others opinions because I am really new to this, very scared, starting to think about shaving the head and see how I look I guess

http://www.geocities.com/shufflelot/holeinhead.jpg

try2beme22

Established Member
Reaction score
well ur supposed to use nizoral every 3 or 4 days... so i recommend if u have a delicate scalp to only use it the way it says to not every 2 days....

malhounsen

Reaction score
I thought some people suggested using it 3 times a week, which is almost every other day, I suppose I should look into other treatments to counter the irritation, or switch to 2% minoxidil.
I should clarify the left image is when i started and the right is after 2 months,
the first link might not work but hopefully this one does

http://www.geocities.com/shufflelot/holeinhead.htm

Cassin

Reaction score
It is possible the irritation is indeed caused by the Nizoral. That has happened to me and others. This is very rare though.

Skipping an application due to irritation is fine and encouraged. No use forcing your scalp to accept minoxidil twice a day while it is adjusting. This will only make things worse, I can guarentee you this. Do your best to get at least 1 (.5ml) app per day. If this doesn't work, try not to go to many days in a row with no app. The most important thing right now is to figure out what your scalp doesn't like. The Nizoral or the minoxidil. Maybe both.