macdruid's Story

macdruid

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the boards but after a few months of denial about my thinning hair I'm here reading up and doing research. I'm looking for a little advice and have a couple restrictive issues that I think may effect any treatments plans.

I'm 34 years old now. Up until about 1999 or so I had a really good head of hair. It seemed to be the same at 29 as it did at 18 so I never really worried about thinning. From 1999-2003 I slowly got the traditional thinning spot in the back but everywhere else remained nice and thick, again with no change so I didn't really worry much about it. I figured "hey, I'm in my 30's there's bound to be a little bit vanish by now".

This year, however, has been different. Over the last 6-8 months the hair at the front and top of my head (heading back towards my previously small, thinning spot) has gotten quite a bit thinner, to the point that you can see my scalp fairly easy if I don't style it "just right". Even then it is plainly quite a bit thinner than last year at this time. I guess it sort of snuck up on me because I didn't notice any unusual shedding. There's very little to no hair on my pillow in the morning and maybe a dozen or so in the tub after a bath but that's it. I'm sure I've lost some but it seems that the diameter of the hair itself has gotten thinner rather than loosing a lot to shedding. I can run my hand through my hair at any given time and maybe come up with one or two loose hairs at most.

Also, earlier this Spring, before I noticed how thin it was getting, my scalp started getting very irritated. Lots of dandruff and itchiness, plus my hair seemed to be oily. I could wash it in the morning and it would be extremely itchy and oily by that evening. I'd heard Nizoral was good to handle that sort of thing so I picked that up and have been using it off and on since then as needed.