I've been diagnosed alopecia areata, what to expect?????

Xavier

Reaction score
30 days ago I started to notice lots of hair on my pillow, bath tub and I noticed these small round chunks in my head.

Well, 30 days later I know it's alopecia areata and the doctor told me to have-

Ingested corticoids (prednisone) 30 mg a day

3% Minoxidil

7 days since I started, and no visible results yet :cry: . My hair keeps falling and don't know what to expect. My eyebrows are intact so far but I'm starting to be really worried about it.

Any advice or help?

Thank you in advance

HairlossTalk

Reaction score
Hello Xavier - I assume you are male going by the username.

Though I am not a doctor I would not have suggested oral corticosteroids right off the bat. If you're doing fine side-effectswise, then cool, but I would inquire with him about local injections.

Please review the Alopecia Areata page on this website which can be found here:
http://www.hairlosstalk.com/research/al ... areata.htm

... and please check out my girlfriend's alopecia areata page as well for some hints and tips. She cured hers with injections, but as you can see, it took over a year.
http://www.hairlosstalk.com/photogallery/pgcarol.htm

What you want at this time is steps to take, so here they are.

1. Review both of the links above in-depth.

2. Call your doctor, and lie to him. Tell him you have a family member who is a dermatologist who has requested that you cease the oral corticosteroids and instead have once monthly injections. Tell him you are comfortable going to another doctor to have them done if your doctor is not well versed in administering these (use your good judgment to determine if he/she seems confident about giving them or not).

3. Tell your doctor the following quote from the National Alopecia Areata Foundation Website: