Is my hair Dependant on minoxidil???????

Sol_5

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Just need to know one thing,

Once you start using minoxidil is your hair dependant on it?

I have been applying minoxidil 5% twice daily for 11 months.

I think I am ready to stop as my hair has grudually stopped falling out (not totally though)

But I'm scared the hair will start falling out again once I stop!!!

Any info would be much appreciated!

Thanx :)

Hotlegs

Established Member
Reaction score
Dependant may not be the right word.

Minoxidil keeps your hair in the growing phase for an extended period of time.

If you stop, all the gains you have made will be lost (typically over a period of 6 months - 1 year).

Even if you continue using minoxidil your hair will eventually begin to recede/thin as you are not addressing the underlying cause of male pattern baldness, dihydrotestosterone effecting the hair roots ability to produce a terminal, pigmented hair.

You did not start minoxidil because your hair was 'lacking' minoxidil you started using minoxidil because your hair was being affected by DHT, you need to address this as a priority, growth stimulation would be a secondary consideration.

Hotlegs

Established Member
Reaction score
You can 'escape' both the 'dependancy' on minoxidil and slow or halt the continuing loss of your scalp hair with the use of 5-alpha reductase inhibitors (propecia etc). Minoxidil will just stimulate some 'extra' hair.

Like poison in the soil of your rose garden, roses looking a little limp, give them some extra water, it will plump them up and aid in growth but unless you leech the poison from the soil they will eventually die.

Sol_5

Reaction score
I love the sound of '5-alpha reductase inhibitors' but unfortunately havn't a clue what they are!

Appreciate the help all the same :)

min0hel

Reaction score