Is 21 too young for a transplant?

vague

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm considering a hair transplant. I went to one location here in Toronto (sure hair) and they told me that I'm too young for a transplant. This makes sense: I'm only beginning my hair loss, and it would suck to pay a bunch of money and then just lose even more hair.

But couldn't I just get the hair transplant and then keep on dht blockers such as propecia to prevent further hair loss? I think starting early would be a good idea. That means you don't have much space to fill in, and therefore you save your donor areas from overharvesting.

Also the person there said that they didn't do mono follicular grafts. Does this mean that they lack the skill, or is there something bad I don't know about moving single follicles? He seemed intent upon selling me some shampoos and creams, so that sorta set off a flag.

Vinton Harper

Established Member
Reaction score
vague said:
Also the person there said that they didn't do mono follicular grafts. Does this mean that they lack the skill, or is there something bad I don't know about moving single follicles? He seemed intent upon selling me some shampoos and creams, so that sorta set off a flag.
Yeah, I'd be wary of a place that only does the large grafts. :freaked: I'm getting an image of those doll-head plugs of long ago. ...Well, apparently not that long ago.

vague

Reaction score
I already have tried both. While they may have been effective in stopping hair loss, they haven't brought back lost hair.

fallicule

Established Member
Reaction score