I thought hair loss and weight lifting may have been related

Obsidian

Reaction score
I now personally think it's a bunch of BS. First of all my 2nd nasty shed happened a little bit right after 6 months and I was certainly not on any weights. Second, my hair and skin has actually started to look better since going over to this bulking up diet, my bacne has cleared up quite a bit since I started it. Third, this nasty shed I have started on recently didn't start when I was weight-lifting it happened on my day off when I wasn't even near weights.

Besides at the end of the day since I have started seriously lifting weights my confidence and overall mental health have improved.

Fundi

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I really can't see it having any more of an effect than sex on tesosterone levels.

I can't imagine it making any even slightly significant/noticeable difference to hair.

ztygr

Reaction score
I've wondered about this too. I'm just learning about all this stuff, but here's what I understand so far. Lifting should increase testosterone levels. Testosterone gets converted into DHT by 5-alpha-reductase. DHT is bad news for hair. finasteride, dutasteride, spironolactone, etc. inhibit 5-alpha-reductase, so it can't convert testosterone to DHT. But if you're lifting and ultimately making more testosterone (which you want when you're lifting), is the finasteride/etc. going to be able to keep up?

BTW, does anyone know where the 5-alpha-reductase comes from? Can you inhibit it's production too? Weaken another link in the chain?

the Last Fight

Established Member
Reaction score
My hairloss has deff. accelerated since lifting weights and doing mild - intense cardio. Now there might be other factors contributing to this but theres no doubt that lifting weights has increased my hairloss.

CCS

Reaction score