Getting Started. Salon Vs Do It All Myself Recommends

Whisper

My Regimen
Reaction score
Hello from Michigan. I recently went to the only salon in my area who specializes in hair systems. I was quoted $750 for stock system french w poly sides/back. Plus $150 cut in and $90 for monthly servicing. I dont mind biting the bullet once or twice if I absolutely had to but its not sustainable long term at these rates. My intention is to do it all myself eventually. I've been cutting my own hair for 30 years (simple high military fade pushed forward and or to the side) but I'm not super confident I should try jumping in at this without being taught properly. If anyone knows a great salon or best place to start in Michigan area that would be awesome. Im retired so I'm more than willing to travel several hours if necessary. Thanks.

Whisper

JMC

Established Member
My Regimen
Reaction score
Let me tell you my experience since I recently got into this world.

I did not do a whole lot of research which is so unlike me. Honestly, I saw these TikTok videos (yes I’m 35 years old and I watch TikTok!) of men getting hairpieces and it looked so uhhh what’s the word... modern? It did not look like what I think of when I envision a toupee, wig, hairpiece.