Finasteride and weights

Reaction score
Hey guys, like alot of people here I'm on finasteride for and I also do weight training everyday (but alternate between different muscle groups). I wondered, do you think that finasteride is actually beneficial for building muscle?

As we all know, finasteride prevents testosterone being converted into dihydrotestosterone, thus testosterone levels in the body are raised almost as a side effect of finasteride usage. Also, testosterone, unlike with the other primary and secondary male sexual characteristics, is more important for muscular development than DHT. In this respect maybe finasteride acts kind of like a steroid? I know it's classed as an aza-steroid, but what do you think?

timbo

Established Member
Reaction score
Finasteride only raises testosterone levels by a small amount and only for a brief period while starting on the drug...

Finnjävel

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been working out for about three years, with 13 months on the big three now. I don't think it has affected my gains in any real way.

matinfisher

Reaction score
I trained for about 15 years due to a back problem I have, but in the last two years I have lost muscle, even during training. There is no bomb and no visible increase in size, even when moving the masses.

CCS

Reaction score
Ive been working out on and off the last 17 years, mostly off. I've been on finasteride for 8 years. I have not seen any muscle difference at all. No side effects, no drastic hair changes, nothing. Just my hair loss stopped in its tracks. I switched brands, even did dutasteride for 6 months, still so no change. Then I stopped taking pills for 2 months. My hair recessed and thinned a bit. I got back on finasteride, and the hair came right back in one month, with the help of nizoral too, which I had also stopped during the 2 months. Definitely works. The only reason I stopped for those 2 months was I misplaced my pills and did not have the money to buy more.