Done with minoxidil. products........continual shedding

x5o

Established Member
Reaction score
I believe that for some individuals minoxidil is counterproductive. After numerous attempts with numerous minoxidil products and strengths I have once again abandoned treatment in my tenth week. The shedding that took me from fairly unnoticeable diffuse thinning on top to an extremely noticeable hair loss situation has left me EXTREMELY upset and depressed. I have to conclude (completely unscientifically as I am not a scientist utilizing scientific studies) that for some, definitely me, minoxidil is counterproductive to the goals that we want to achieve. Even Rogaine's manufacturer expresses concern about continual shedding two weeks beyond the 4 week mark. Ten weeks is the longest I allowed the shedding to occur. My past experiences have yielded recovery in about four to six months. I have almost always noted immediate decreases in shedding hair upon cessation of the minoxidil. Obviously the shed hair takes months to grow in. I just hope this time recovery will be the same as in the past. I will shortly begin using a copper peptide solution in hopes of speeding recovery from the horrible shed. My sheds have always been massive regardless of the strength of the minoxidil. or the delivery vehicle. I have never shed with proscar despite having been on it for over a decade. I suspect that there will be some evidence that will surface at some point in time that minoxidil. can be very detremental to certain individuals. I know what so many have said about the shedding but I suspect there may be two different types of sheds........one which is expected in some indiv. and ultimately leads to stronger hair production and another that simply causes too much loss and too frequent cycling resulting in a rapid acceleration of the balding process. I believe these two types of sheds could be present in other treatments as well such as propecia. I've read some horror stories about prope