Discussing the impact of hair loss in student documentary

josiephina

Reaction score
My name is Josie Smart, and I am a student at RMIT University. I am currently in the midst of producing a documentary about hair loss and the use of wigs with a number of other students from my course. We are seeking to speak with real people who may be willing to share their story about coping with hair loss. If this is something you may be interested in, please get in touch with me via this forum or contact me via email at josie.e.smart@gmail.com.

uncomfortable man

Reaction score
Just do justice to the ones inflicted. We are still humans, with working emotions and the way people can be cruel and insensitive really has a very damaging mental/emotional impact.

I'm reminded of an old episode of the cartoon Berinstein Bears where lil brother cuts all the hair off of lil sis's favorite doll and when she sees her doll bald she claims not to love it anymore... whereby her mother had to intervene and tell her that her dolly was still the same dolly she has always been, deep down.

Good luck on your project.

Mr White

Established Member
Reaction score
It seems like a great idea, as long as you don't turn it into a comedy. There's nothing funny about hairloss, most of the times it's a traumatic experience.

- - - Updated - - -

The subject of baldness can be the starting point for a discussion on broader issues: why do we discriminate? Why racism, sexism and ageism? What is beauty?

Exodus2011

Banned
My Regimen
Reaction score
It seems like a great idea, as long as you don't turn it into a comedy. There's nothing funny about hairloss, most of the times it's a traumatic experience.

- - - Updated - - -

The subject of baldness can be the starting point for a discussion on broader issues: why do we discriminate? Why racism, sexism and ageism? What is beauty?
good points there

i think it is a great idea