Beaner's Story

beaner

Reaction score
Just wanted to take a moment to say hello. I've been haunting this forum for a couple of months and finally joined. (Actually tried to join a while back but it wouldn't take my hotmail email address....HairLossTalk.com, why is that?) I think I've read every post, some more than once. I'm beginning to feel as if I know some of you personally and you seem like a great bunch! (I especially like Gunner's "stories" )
Anyway, I'm almost 37 years old and have been pretty much losing my hair all of my adult life..probably noticed Jr/Sr year in high school. At the time the only available treatment was prescription minoxidil 2% and I most certainly could not afford it. Also I was losing rather slowly and it didn't really become noticeable for quite a while.
By the time I hit my 30's, male pattern baldness began to hit hard and I was shedding like a bastard and pretty much realized that I would be quite bald in a few years if I didn't do something. I was probably about a NW4 at the hairline and had a bald spot that enfulfed the entire top of my head.
Not knowing too much, I bagan 5% minoxidil and began to see results quite quickly. My hair thickened up a bit and the bald spot slowly decreased in size. I never used it on the hairline because I thought it was ineffective and figured "why waste my minoxidil?" It seemed to have an effect on it anyway as a couple of years ago, I noticed my temples coming forward in the corner.
Now almost 4 years later, I still am seeing new growth from minoxidil, although that may be because I have increased the dosage a bit in the last year or so....I now work out of my home so 2 daily applications became a regular thing, as before I sometimes only did one because it made my hair look like crap.