Any teachers out there? I need IDEAS!

Belmondo

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a high school teacher and I'm always looking for ideas and tips to improve my teaching.

I teach Economy and Tourism to kids ( 15 - 19 yo) from the local slums and it's not easy.

Here are some of the activities I've already tried:

1) Ride on the local Ho-ho bus

The kids loved it. I know this may seem like something trivial to most of you but it was a new experience for the kids and most of them couldn't possibly afford the ticket.

2) Travel program

I bought a few American Express tourist guides and the kids had to make their own travel program. Simple but effective.

3) Economy newspapers

Extremely simple but worked really well. The kids had to consult an economy newspaper and fill in a questionnaire.

4) Avatar (50 min. clip)

I'm so proud of this one. The subject was environment and natural resources so why not show them a clip of James Cameron's Avatar? They loved it!

5) A visit to the local shopping centre?

The subject is distribution, so I'm thinking of taking them to the local shopping centre. I haven't tried it yet. It's not a guided tour, they simply have to gather some information on the stores and write down a report.

6) Horrible Bosses (1 hour clip)

It was the only video that didn't work. The subject was Labour Law so it seemed to make some sense but the kids hated the movie, it was embarrassing and depressing.

7) Kramer vs Kramer (7 min. clip)

This one, by the contrary, worked really well: the opening sequence of Kramer vs Kramer starring Dustin Hoffman and Meryl Streep. It was a big risk (it's a 1979 movie!) but they loved it.

8) iPad

I haven't tried it yet. The subject is technological innovation so I'm thinking of talking about Steve Jobs. I'll also show Apple's new iPad 3 to the class.

9) Reading