27 year old- first went on finasteride as teenager- my story

27yearoldveteran

Reaction score
Hey everyone- long time reader- first time poster.
In 2004 I went to my uni Doctor with really itchy scalp- he told me I was going bald. At this stage on my right temple looked to be receding (even as a child it was uneven with the other) The Doctor wrote me a prescription for Rogain - and said I wish I had this when I was balding. I've never tried rogaine. Even to this day.
I was devastated I had just turned 18 and I was a freshman. I did my research and did not want to wait to get on propecia so I bought a tablet off a guy who was in my uni and who I only knew from posting online and bought the meds. I had a full head more or less. I did get sides- one week really horny and some weeks found it hard to get erections. Went through sheds of hair etc- spent all my time on this forum fretting .At around the 6 month mark- my hair was so thick and my scalp felt healthy ( when I first went to the Doctor my scalp was all inflamed and it was so itchy for a period of 3 months) the finasteride stopped all this. During this time I took hair supplements- green tea, soya milk etc.

One of my brothers had gone bald in his early 20s so I was overly aware of the problem. I stayed on propecia till 2007 always cutting down - from taking 1.25 mg a day to taking it twice a week. The main problem was erections - I could get them but keeping them especially with girls I hooked up with. In some ways it messed with my head and the anxiety I would feel when I was in that situation . I found that if I didn't think about it I was grand but if I thought about it I seized up.
Anyway I decided t