TortoiseAndHair's Story (Pics included)

TortoiseAndHair

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Been reading this site for about a week now, and I must say, it's got a wealth of information. Thanks, HairLossTalk.com!

I first started noticing my hair thinning in college, but I didn't really think too much about it. It wasn't obvious, and I was convinced that when it got too bad, I'd just shave it all off, and that would be that.

After I graduated, I noticed that I was really starting to thin, and looking at my older brother, who's about a Norwood 5A or 6, and seeing how bad it looked, I decided to do something about it. Also, the fact that my dad is 100% "glabrous," I had a pretty good feeling I might be heading down the same road. (At the time, I figured that it was only my Mom's side that should affect me, but after reading this site, I know that's not true!)

I didn't want the hassle of a prescription, so I started on got Rogaine 5% when I was about 23. I did it for about 4 months before the itching and flaking got to me. I couldn't stand it anymore, so I just quit. I figured I'd rather be bald than have huge flakes.

Time passed, and I was pretty much resigned to my fate, but it really didn't get much worse, or so I figured. One day about a week ago (I'm 26 now), I went in to get a haircut, and the hairdresser asked me what kind of shampoo I use.

Me: "Whatever's cheapest"
Her: "Well, you should probably consider trying <Brand X> shampoo, because it really thickens your hair up. Right now, you've got full coverage, but your hair is so thin you can see right through to the scalp.
Me: "Oh my, thank you for such an astute observation! I had no friggin' clue that you could see my scalp when my hair's wet!"