Terrible shed caused by finasterid? And a recovery from it!

RP

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been loosing my hairline slowly for the past 12 years (started when I was 17). Since it progressed so slowly I didn`t do anything to treat it.

I started to use Rogaine after an agressive tv-marketing campaign for the product began here in Finland maybe three years ago. I thought that if it slowed the process of hairloss, I would be perfectly happy. Dont know if it did anything but I did continue to use it twice a day.

Last spring I read about Propecia and decided that it would be much more easier to use a pill than a lotion. So I made a very bad decision. I stopped using Rogaine and started to take only Propecia.

Last May I was propably a strong nw2. Now, after just five months I`m almost maybe a nw3 or even 3,5!!! When I started Propecia I didn`t even know about different hairloss websites. Now I`m a regular reader of these forums. That`s how bad the situation has become ;-).

My hairline lost maybe half of its already diminished thickness. And the most shocking aspect was losing tons of hair also from the vertex. A thing I had never experienced before.

Eventually I did take Rogaine back to my regimen and also started to use Nizoral. In the last three weeks I have also noticed that short hairs have started to grow between my existing hair in the hairline, and maybe on the top of my head also, but I´m not sure since it`s difficult to see. But I do think that the situation is slightly improving. I might even soon try to go out without using concealers.

Anyway, this has been quite a depressing experience. In the last three months I have done things that I never thought that I would do because of my hair:

- Tried propably all the possible concealers there are (Toppik, Dermmatch, Kerasome, Nanogen) btw. Kerasome and DM are the best IMO.

- Shaved my head to 1mm. A terrible mistake. That´s when I really freaked out.