ShineyDome's Story

shineydome

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been browsing this site and others since early 2000 when I made **another** attempt to combat this disease I've had since 1978. Back then, I was just 16 and had to deal with all the jokes, the quick looks at your hairline from the guys and the girls, etc. etc. As my hairline vanished, my social life seemed to go with it. Anyway, we've all been there, I'm sure. It just seems to hurt more when it hits at age 16!. My first real attempt to combat this stuff came in 1985 (now 23) when they discovered that minoxidil could help with hairloss. Right out of college, I didn't have much cash but managed to handle (for a while) the $100 per month pharm 2% crush-pills-in-a-bottle routine for a while. I even started working for a pharmacy to get a huge discount to handle the expense...that brought it down to 'round $35 a month. I had great success with minoxidil back then..too bad I stopped. I had an "identity" crisis and went into a tailspin for a few years and finally woke up around 1989. Got married, had some kids and by 1993, briefly considered a transplant, I was norwood 5. Just hated it so I decided to go the hairpeice route...like my father, but that didn't work so well. Seemed like I was more self concious than ever. By 1994, I dumped the peice and shaved my head and started using OTC 2% minoxidil. Which by the way, didn't work at all as well as the 2% pharm crush-pills. Hairloss continued to Norwood 6 until around 2000 when I started *again* to do something. Went crazy with everythin, finasteride, saw, zinc, b6, green tea, minoxidil 5, and again, had great results but terrible side effects! The side effects really bummed me out, could barely get a stiffy and the loads, when I could ejaculate, were 10% of norm. Having no idea of what was causing all of this, I dumped the whole thing and, again, lost all I had gained. It's sad, but I do respond very well to minoxidil, just not very well in the temples,