Much better results using minoxidil with azelaic acid

chrb

Reaction score
A week or so ago I switched from Regaine foam to a minoxidil formula that also contains 5% azelaic acid and retinol. I have to say that I'm getting really good results using this formula and I put a big part of it down to the azelaic acid. I know some people don't believe in azelaic acid but I can say that it definitely works for me. Prior to getting this formula I would use an azelaic acid cream and notice that when I washed it off my hair would feel much thicker. However using a cream regularly is just totally impractical so I stopped.

Now that I'm applying this new formula I notice that my hair feels thicker and I'm experiencing excellent regrowth. I don't know whether the azelaic acid blocks DHT or stops inflammation but whatever it does it's allowing the minoxidil to actually do its job. Honestly I've been using Regaine foam for about 5 months prior to this and I don't think it really did anything. I think the fact that I'm using a dropper rather than the foam also helps. Foam is very convenient but I doubt it allows for the same level of absorption as liquid.

Anyway just want to put this up here in case anyone is wondering about azelaic acid and whether it works or not.

hellouser

My Regimen
Reaction score
My next order of Minoxidil may switch from Kirkland's generic to Lipogaine. DHT should be battled at every front.

TheHandsomeLurker

Established Member
Reaction score
Honestly I've been using Regaine foam for about 5 months prior to this and I don't think it really did anything. I think the fact that I'm using a dropper rather than the foam also helps. Foam is very convenient but I doubt it allows for the same level of absorption as liquid.

1. It often takes half a year to see results from minoxidil just because the hair follicles it acts on take time to produce cosmetically visible hair.