kal's story

kal

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a 20 year college student in BC Canada. I first started paying attention to my hair when my girlfriend was helping me spike it up it for halloween, because I have rarely ever bothered to gel my hair or even style it that much. She said " wow you have a really big widows peak, people like are more likely to go bald". That was the second time I had heard that in 6 months and I don't know whether it is true, or the large widows peak is simply the first sign of a receding hairline, I've had a widows peak since I was a kid but it is much more pronounced now so think it's the first sign of hair loss for me.

Now when I get out of the shower I've noticed the scalp shows through on my left temple, I noticed it predominatly on my left temple becuase the way I 've alwasy combed my hair on my bangs is my right to left because I have a natural "cowlick" at my right temple and have always parted it there, and combed the hair away from it in both directions and towards and over top of my left temple so it has always looked "higher" up. However when I look closely at it I can see evidence of it receding as well.

I very sure this has started in the last year if not the last six months, and it may be that I'm now looking for it more or I'm just paranoid but i beleive I can see a difference from 3 months ago. My father is almost 60 and still has pretty much all his har though its not as thick as it used to be. There is no record of male pattern baldness on his side of the family up to his grandfather, he doesn't have any brothers..

Ofcourse on my mothers it's not the case, but although her brothers hair is now receding, he is almost 50. I'm fairly certain I got the hairlloss gene from my mothers father( which by the way I've also heard this this is the relitive you are most like to inherit hairloss from), who was a NW4-5 in his early 30's by the looks of his wedding photos, and apparently started balding quite young.