jukup's Story

jukup

Reaction score
Hello everybody!

I am rather new to hair loss and hence quite alarmed! I am just 24 years old, and for about a year now I have been having a very sharp scalp itch mostly at the front of my head, and a bit round the hairline, but it appears all around the top of the scalp every now and then. After a few months of this I noticed that my hair had also started falling off, especially in the areas that were itching most. I hence visited my doctor who said that it is probably a light scalp eczema. He gave me Betnovate (a scalp steroid) and Nizoral to use. Betnovate only made things worse! The itch was back with a vengence! So I stopped it.

I have been using Revivogen for a month and a half now, to stop the hair loss, and the shedding I experience is not helping me feel at ease! I am still itching even though I use Nizoral twice a week and medicinal shampoo's on every other day, and the hair loss is more pronounced in the areas of itching. When I scratch there, some very tiny but hard lumps come out, that do not look anything like dandruff. It seems that hair is not growing in the areas of itching, but since my hair has not thinned too much yet I cannot be sure. I am still losing hair at an alarming rate though(I counted about 60 hairs on my hands while shampooing the other day!!!). Attempting to use Regain was a disaster, with my scalp feeling like it was on fire from the itch it caused me!

What I would like to know is this: Is the itching part of male pattern baldness? It started first and then I noticed the hair loss. And I am losing my hair mostly in the areas of itch but also all around the front of my scalp (not exactly the hairline though). Or is there something that may cause such a constant itch and also hair loss? I have tried to see a dermatologist, but this being the UK, there is a 6 month waiting list.