Guys, Gals.....anyone

Inch

Reaction score
I am female (not much happening in that forum). I have been using minoxidil now for a little over 5 months......4 months on 2% where I was pleased with the results. I never experienced any initial shed and did not seem to be losing any more. I then started on Dr. Lee's 5%, thinking I would see some regrowth. After 4 weeks, I stopped because the top of my head had thinned a lot more. I am now back on the 2%, no bad irritation on either, just a slight itch, but.....only on top, no where else (sides). I use Nizoral 2% twice a week and have also started Folligen. I was afraid to start the minoxidil in the beginning, now I am afraid to stop. Has anyone ever experienced a worsening effect going from the 2% to the 5%? I just don't know what to do anymore. I wrote to Dr. Lee and he said it's normal to shed, however, I DID NOT with the 2% initially. Any help out there for me??????? Losing my hair and my mind.

westcovinajoe

Established Member
Reaction score
I think, and when I do that there is usually trouble, but I think the 5% is for dudes only...

Could be wrong...

Also I thought saw palmetto was sort of a guy only thing too.

Sorry to be so unsure while answering, but maybe someone else has a firmer grasp of the facts. Maybe I will go check for you too. If no one else posts I will find out for you.

Good Luck!

Joe.

westcovinajoe

Established Member
Reaction score
Me again, he he....

Looks like saw palmetto is just a no-no for child-bearing age women.

"In addition, women of childbearing age should not use saw palmetto without medical supervision because it has not been proven to be safe during pregnancy and lactation."

Thats from

http://www.youngagain.com/baldness.html

Hope I helped a little and good luck,
Joe.

Dinzy

Established Member
Reaction score
5% is not recommended for women due to it possibly causing excess body hair which is less of an issue with men.