Finasteride and Neurosteroides (DHT metabolites) - Potential Problem?

to the lost

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I was looking on the mechanism of action of finasteride, and I found something discouraging/problematic. First of I am NOT a doctor or a neuro-scientist, so this is for me kind of a “hard-to-understand” subject, but I did reasearch. And please don’t accuse me of anything (I am neither for or against finasteride: in my previous thred – those who read it, know – that I am starting to have hair loss problems, but I am not on finasteride yet, but I would like to be if it is safe).

Ok, let’s start:

1.) finasteride inhibits T to DHT conversion, which means less of DHT in your body (by 5α reductase I and II, but as i understand type II more)

2.) please look at the picture http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1527-3458.2006.00053.x/pdf (page 55, picture 1)

It says: “[FONT=&amp]use of a 5[/FONT] α[FONT=&amp] -reductase inhibitor can be considered a[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]blockade of the rate-limiting step to the two-step production of neuroactive steroid metabolites”

[/FONT]

[FONT=&amp]So the 5[/FONT] α reductase inhibitor (like finesteride) can block production of certain neurosteroids (if I understand picture correctly) like DHT (you also get less androstanediol, because it is metabolite from DHT and there is less DHT in body); DHP (get also less allopregnanolone or short THP, same reason just from progesterone) and DHDOC (get also less THDOC).

did i understand that right? (it block all reductase metabolites, not just androstanediol)

3.) p 58 says: “[FONT=&amp]Given this finding, there has been speculation that finasteride[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]might be useful to inhibit progesterone metabolism, and the concomitant synthesis of[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]neuroactive steroids in the brain”

[/FONT]

p. 60 has this conclusion:”[FONT=&amp] In summary, preclinical studies with[/FONT]