Does dying your hair worsen hair loss?

reremedies

Reaction score
Does anyone know the answer to this? I've been using 'Just For Men' for about 6 months now and over the last few months my hair loss has gotten worse despite being on Propecia, Minoxidil 5% (once a day), Revivogen shampoo and conditioner, and Nizoral 3-4 times a week. That is my complete regimen that has worked for the last 3 years or so and now seems to be inadequate.

Also I'm considering a topical leave-in conditioner like crinagen or RU topical, but the cost of all of this is getting pretty overwhelming. Wondering if crinagen will make my scalp greasy, too.

hair_tomorrow

Reaction score
You're going to hear varied opinions on this one.

"I think" that dying your hair is not the healthiest thing for your existing hair - but that it will not increase your hairloss. Just try to keep the solution off your scalp as much as possible - and treat only the hairs.

ShedMaster

Reaction score
yeah its not going to be good for your hair, and might possibly be bad... but you will get varying opinions on that. Dying ones hair has a tendency to 'fray' the edges of the hair temporarily resulting in cosmetically thicker hair.. such as if you were to fray the edges of a rope.. same thing.

If the dye causes any irritation or itching etc, then obviously its not good :)\

EDIT, just noticed that 'hair tomorrow' posted almost the same thing as me. ha.

Gizmo

Established Member
Reaction score
yeah its not going to be good for your hair, and might possibly be bad... but you will get varying opinions on that. Dying ones hair has a tendency to 'fray' the edges of the hair temporarily resulting in cosmetically thicker hair.. such as if you were to fray the edges of a rope.. same thing.

If the dye causes any irritation or itching etc, then obviously its not good :)\

EDIT, just noticed that 'hair tomorrow' posted almost the same thing as me. ha.

but does it do any permanent damage when used every 3 weeks ?

resu