Baldness and finding a job

baldguy27

Reaction score
I have been unemployed and out of work since October. I'm really starting to worry because I have had a very difficult time finding a job and can't help but wonder if it has something to do with my hairloss. I have been on 15 interviews and still no job. I made it down to the final three candidates in my last three interviews but still no job even though I did everything right: showed up 20 minutes early for the interview, wore a suit, I have a college degree even though it is in sociology, etc but still no job. I'm applying mainly for sales and customer service positions as that is where I have experience. Ironically I have seen the remaining candidates and all have their hair and many were also tall so I can't help but think that I lose out because of my appearance. Has anyone else here been unemployed for a long period of time and wondered the same thing? Even though employers can't admit it by law, I wouldn't be surprised if with all things being equal they chose the candidate with the full head of hair.

Thinning

Experienced Member
Reaction score
Yeah you are being discriminated against. I saw a show where they sent an overqualified bald guy on the same interview as a guy with all his hair who was underqualified and the bald guy got 0 offers and the guy with hair got about 1/2 of the jobs offered to him.

Luckilly I still have enough hair that I dont have it held against me.

We have never hired a bald guy as long as Ive worked here ( 5 years ).

I suggest getting a rug and wear lifts if you are shorter than average. You cant afford not to if you are unemployed.

G

Bald guy, yes it's true.

I'm now 24. I started losing hair noticeably in 2002. Prior to that, I went on 5 job interviews and got all of them.

Since my hair loss increased in 2002/03 I have been on 7 interviews and never got any of the jobs. Even though I acted better, more careful then I did before my hairloss started to kick in.